The Untitled Project :: A Kid With A Camera

Untitled | March 2017

I have often asked myself several questions, regarding the nature of my work. It usually comes down to one single question: “What am I?”

Am I a photographer? As much as I would like to think so, the truth is that I don’t consider myself a photographer. I don’t make pictures to photograph the world around me and even if I did, I cannot say that I have the proper education to do so. It’s not that I have no education at all. No, it’s just that I try to educate myself to do the things I love and enjoy. And that applies to my photographic journey as well.

Am I an artist? That is something that I will probably never say. There are times that I am motivated to make something artistic, but in the end I don’t know if I get there, and even if I do from time to time, I am not the one to judge the final result. So, that’s an assumption for others to make.

So what am I???

I see myself as a big kid with a toy, because that’s what my camera is: a toy. When I take it from its case and hold it in my hands my only intention is to play and have a good time. And more often than not, I use it correctly and make photographs, but only with the intention of having a good time. Have you ever watched a young kid drawing with their markers and pencils? I guess it’s the same with me. The lens is my pencil. So, I play and while playing I explore myself more than my world, and go with the flow. I let my curiosity and my fantasy and my imagination lead me to places I have never been before. That’s where all the magic happens.

Sometimes, I make pictures I am proud of and want to show the world what I ‘ve done. Other times, I end up with almost nothing. Does it matter? No. What matters is that I enjoyed myself and had a really good time.

I would like to thank everyone for coming along,

Dimitris Z.

P.S. Sometimes I feel that the real gain is the people you meet along your journey, but that’s a conversation we ‘ll have another time.

