Think Twice

Modern Times

Dear friend,

It’s been some time since I made this photograph. Actually, I have posted it again in this blog. The reason I am re-posting, is an article I read these days. Let me tell you a little bit about the story of this photograph. I was with a friend making some photographs at home, after the session we started talking about modern life -mostly our lives- and started whining, because we didn’t have free time to do more things and life is becoming more and more time-consuming and so on. And then I had this idea; took my smartphone and my girlfriends watch and made what you just saw. The photograph was originally published on my Flickr account and some people liked it. There was this photographer who sent me an email, telling me how he liked my photograph and so on and then mentioned that it might had been better using a plate with no drawings on it -the original plate had those flower drawings. I loved his comment -I always love good and honest feedback- and it made me realise that I didn’t think about that myself, which was pretty strange since I try to be as minimalistic as possible. I don’t try to be sarcastic here, I just tell the story fast so that it’s not boring. I thanked him and a couple of days later I made the shot again, posted it on flickr as “Modern Times (Take 2)” and next day it got explored. Being explored doesn’t matter that much to me, as most of the photographs on explore are oversaturated landscapes, nature and macro shots, which are good but not to my liking, but this particular photograph was actually a better version of the first one.

Anyway, this photographer runs a blog. I had been reading his blog before meeting him on Flickr, but I never mentioned anything -until now- and he never promoted it, I just figured from the photographs I saw on both mediums. Bottom line is that I have been enjoying his posts for 2-3 years now and a couple of months ago he wrote an article that reminded me everything that happened in order to make today’s re-post. So, I decided to make a translation of the article -most of  the article to be precise, as there where things that could not stand on their own and since the blog is written in Greek I thought most of you could not follow up.

So, here it is….. Think Twice!!

“It is incredibly easy; that’s the real problem in photography. And that’s also a weight, the one that doesn’t allow photography to open its wings and fly among the Arts, at least to an extent. The end result -the photograph- is often easy, for sure much easier than the result of other arts, which require a much higher level of technical sufficiency and thus presuppose an even higher level of discipline. And that discipline is a liberating factor when it comes to art, and it is what actually leads the creator to the catharsis.”

“In photography, even the most accidental or unthoughtful effort will always give you some kind of result, and that result, which is also some kind of miracle, may even surprise you. And what do you do? You let it seduce you and lead you to thoughtlessness. You will always have a visible result in photography, even with the least amount of effort -sometimes with no effort at all- and that is magical. But that is also how you learn to settle with a result that requires just that; the least amount of effort.”

“If photography wants to stand as Art, it must always embody all the requirements and presuppositions demanded by other Arts: an inspiring conception, a thoughtful look, some kind of imaginative feature, a sense of artist’s statement and a transcendental experience of both the declared intent and the visual result, to name a few. To sum up: the conception must always be an impulsive act and its execution must always be a thoughtful process. For the photographers, it means that in order to consider themselves serious and be considered by others as such, they must always work with two levels of thinking; first that of the enthusiasm of the conception and then that of its orchestration into a visual result.”

Thanx for reading,

Dimitris Z.

P.S. I hope to have done well, both as intention and as result regarding the translation on this article.

P.S.2 The translated article was originally posted in camerartstudio. Check it out. Even If you don’t understand Greek, which you probably don’t, you will enjoy some pretty solid photography!!!

