It’s Not Done, Until It’s A Print!!

Dear friend,

It is that time of the year when I make some prints of my photographs. I just finished framing them and decided to share some thoughts.

There is something about prints that fascinates me every single time. It’s one thing seeing your photographs on the screen of your laptop, and it is something else when you see the actual prints. They look a lot different and I have come to the conclusion that you don’t actually know what your photographs look like 100 percent until you actually print them. Then, it is the whole philosophical aspect of printing your photographs. For me it is -sort of- the “end product”-a photograph is meant to be printed ,either as an image or in a book.

The good part is that I have found out that you don’t have to spend a lot of money these days. You make small prints (mine are 20×30 cm) and you frame them yourself, finding materials in your local stores. I don’t want to speak about money, but it’s quite affordable. Every year, I try to make five to ten prints, just for myself, according to the space I have to put them. Some of them are probably gonna be given away as gifts.

As I said earlier, it is not done, until it is a print!!

Until next time,

Dimitris

Just finished framing…

